RSS

Teeing it forward, exercise and Smart lessons

28 Nov

Yesterday I remembered an old saying that at that time I probably didn’t fully appreciate. Here it is: “We get too soon old, and too late smart”.

At the risk of “philosophizing”, when I was 21 years old I was 10 feet tall and bullet proof. However, recently after turning 60, I seem to be feeling more vulnerable. The topic of conversation of the people I know, who are about my own age, more than often centers around lack of distance in their drives, and their health problems.

Anyway, you are asking how this relates to this article. Good question. Last week I played golf for 2 days in a row. Thanksgiving and the day before. In Columbus Ohio that is great and I really enjoyed the days. The best part however, were my fellow competitors. I was lucky enough to play with my nephew David who is currently getting ready to complete his playing career at the University of Minnesota, and Ethan Tracy, who just completed a very successful playing career at the University of Arkansas and has just turned professional.

They both hit the ball a mile and both played up to their reputation. It is really fun to watch very good players and I really enjoyed it. I want to say here and now that I learned a valuable lesson watching these guys. For most players, including myself, I firmly believe in the PGAs recommendation to “tee the ball forward”. If you are not familiar with this program, it is a recommendation for most of us to play from a forward tee. I can truly say that playing a forward tee is much more fun and it is great to be able to have a competitive round. In other words, if you are a low handicapper or someone who plays serious competitive golf, play it back. If not, you should consider a forward tee, golf is supposed to be fun!

Now about “Smart Golf Lessons”

Smart Golf Lessons not only deal with swing mechanics, but also maybe more importantly, with how we practice the game. Smart Lessons allow you to start the instruction where you currently are in golf and then build from there.

Not only must you practice the right stuff “slowly and deliberately”, but being stronger and more flexible is also a must if you are serious about maintaining your ability to play well.

I have been fortunate enough to be in a position as a teaching professional to arrange my schedule to my advantage. When I discovered that nature was “taking its due course” as it does with all of us, I started a reasonable exercise program and I am finally reaping some benefits. Eating right and exercising regularly is indeed important to keeping the edge on. I strongly recommend this to all of my students. Seriously, if you can spare one half hour a day for the gym, I can show you how to make a big difference in your golf.

Lecture is over. If you are still unsure about ” Smart Lessons” and what “slow and deliberate” practice is and how it can help your game, lets talk! Contact me at jkhpro@pga.com.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment