RSS

Make more putts in 2014 !!

13 Mar

Because I am the worlds worst putter, I have experimented with every type of putter on the market to make more putts!

Here are 2 positive things that I have discovered while wearing the carpet out this winter. 1. There are many good putters on the market right now. How the putter looks to you personally is a serious consideration. How it feels when you strike a putt is also very important.

2. I have also figured out that I wasn’t really using my shoulders as most good putting instructors recommend. At some time in the past, I know I have used my shoulders correctly, but like most of the mechanical movements in the golf swing, my body evidently forgot what is was supposed to do. Seriously, if you feel that you aren’t making your share of putts, you may be over using your hands and arms!

Using your shoulders the correct way will feel very uncomfortable when you start reconstructing your stroke. Just hang in there and keep rocking your shoulders. It is truly a more consistent way to make a putting stroke. As I always tell my students, the inside, your shoulders, should be moving the outside, your arms and hands.

20140313-074128.jpg

Check out this picture of the “fatso 5.0 Super Stroke” putter grip. You have no doubt seen tour pros using this grip. It seems to have helped me get my hands out of the stroke which leads me to use my shoulders more positively.

If you are not using a long putter, the fatso grip may be a favorable experiment to help you make more putts this summer!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment